Coqui

I brought this guy to his new home this morning.  Needless to say I was sad to see him go. He was inspired by Kiki Koki. I think the original is so cute and sweet and his fondant cousin turned out pretty sweet, too.

IMG_6258

This cake was all things Puerto Rico. Coqui, Flor de Maga, Pava hat and of course, an itty-bitty flag. Had so much fun making it.  His hat was a bit of a challenge, but I finally figured it out on day 2. Instead of making the brim separate from the crown and trying to get it to stick straight up like they are supposed to, I just cut out a large circle of fondant, draped it over a circle cutter and made a slight indent for the crown, leaving the brim to hang down (eventually up).

I also made his super sturdy with an internal armature of wooden skewer and wire for the arms.  It was a technique (modified for scale) that I learned recently from one of Crafsty.com‘s awesome classes. More on those in another post.

Coqui Cake

I have 2 fun projects coming up this week. I’ll tell you all about soon.

-Reve

Leave a Reply

